2025 Feature and Short Film Submissions Now Open
CEH 2023 Unforgettables Collage

Voting Now Open for Audience Choice Long List as Nonfiction Fans from Around the World Will Select this Year’s 10 Nominees

Cinema Eye Continues Year of Celebrating Documentary Subjects with 2023 Unforgettables List

October 25, 2022 | Los Angeles, California – Cinema Eye Honors, the organization that recognizes outstanding artistic achievement in nonfiction and documentary films & series, continued its awards announcements today for their 16th Annual Honors by revealing this year’s Audience Choice Long List as well as the 2023 Unforgettables.

Ten years ago, Cinema Eye was the first awards body to introduce an honor recognizing documentary subjects, their relationship with their filmmakers and their essential contributions to documentary film. This year, in recognition of the 10th anniversary of the Unforgettables list — as well as the centennial of Robert Flaherty’s Nanook of the North — Cinema Eye is introducing a year-plus thematic celebration that intends to further interrogate the prominence of documentary subjects. Last week, at the Cinema Eye Fall Lunch in Los Angeles, the organization announced that Terry Zwigoff’s Crumb would receive the organization’s Legacy Award as part of this Celebration of Unforgettables.

In addition, today Cinema Eye announced the Audience Choice Prize Long List — 16 films selected by the Cinema Eye Feature Film Nominations Committee for their “ability to engage, entertain, inspire, outrage, aggravate or otherwise connect with audiences.” Voting is open now on the Cinema Eye website here and documentary film fans from around the world will select the 10 films that will be nominated in the category. Voting will close at 11:59 pm PT on November 1, 2022.

Each year, tens of thousands of global documentary audience members have participated in final voting for this award, which has gone to favorites such as Free Solo, The September Issue, The King of Kong and Boys State. In 10 out of the 11 past years, the eventual Oscar winner for Best Documentary Feature was an Audience Choice Prize nominee (Icarus was given the Hell Yeah Prize and was not eligible in the category).

This year, there is significant overlap in the films that are recognized in both the Unforgettables list as well as the Audience Choice Long List. In all, 11 films appear on both lists: All That Breathes, All the Beauty and the Bloodshed, Fire of Love, In Her Hands, Last Flight Home, Mija, My Old School, Navalny, Nothing Compares, Sr. and The Territory.

Both of this year’s lists are below.

Cinema Eye will announce its full list of nominations, including the 10 films selected by global documentary lovers for the Audience Choice Prize, on Thursday, November 10. Audience Choice final voting will open in December. The 16th Annual Cinema Eye Awards Ceremony will take place Thursday, January 12, 2023 at the Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens.

The Unforgettables

Mohammad Saud and Nadeem Shehzad
All That Breathes

Nan Goldin
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

Chun Siev
Bad Axe

Rebeca Huntt

Katia and Maurice Krafft
Fire of Love

Gabby Giffords
Gabby Giffords Won’t Back Down

Reid Davenport
I Didn’t See You There

Zarifa Ghafari
In Her Hands

Eli Timoner
Last Flight Home

Doris Muñoz

Brandon Lee
My Old School

Alexei Navalny

Sinead O’Connor
Nothing Compares

Robert Downey Sr.

Bitaté Uru Eu Wau Wau and Neidinha Bandeira
The Territory

The Audience Choice Prize Long List

All That Breathes
Directed by Shaunak Sen

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Directed by Laura Poitras

The Balcony Movie
Directed by Pawel Lozinski

Fire of Love
Directed by Sara Dosa

Good Night Oppy
Directed by Ryan White

Hallelujah: Leonard Cohen, A Journey, A Song
Directed by Dan Geller and Dayna Goldfine

In Her Hands
Directed by Tamana Ayazi and Marcel Mettelsiefen

Last Flight Home
Directed by Ondi Timoner

Louis Armstrong’s Black & Blues
Directed by Sacha Jenkins

Directed by Isabel Castro

Moonage Daydream
Directed by Brett Morgen

My Old School
Directed by Jono McLeod

Directed by Daniel Roher

Nothing Compares
Directed by Kathryn Ferguson

Directed by Chris Smith

The Territory
Directed by Alex Pritz

About Cinema Eye, Cinema Eye Week and the 2023 Cinema Eye Honors

Cinema Eye was founded in 2007 to recognize excellence in artistry and craft in nonfiction filmmaking. It was the first and remains the only international nonfiction award to recognize the whole creative team, presenting annual craft awards in directing, producing, cinematography, editing, composing, sound design and visual design. The 16th Annual Cinema Eye Honors Week and Awards Ceremony will take place in January 2023 in New York City, where a series of celebratory events bring together many of the year’s most accomplished filmmakers. For more on Cinema Eye eligibility and rules: