Outstanding Achievement in

Debut Feature Film

From Barbara Kopple’s Harlan County U.S.A. to Frederick Wiseman’s Titicut Follies, some of the most lauded and lasting nonfiction films of all time have been crafted by debut filmmakers. Previous winners in this category include Jennifer Venditti for Billy the Kid (2008), Yung Chang for Up the Yangtze (2009), Michael Palmieri and Donal Mosher for October Country (2010), Jeff Malmberg for Marwencol (2011), Clio Barnard for The Arbor (2012), Jason Tippet and Elizabeth Mims for Only the Young (2013), Zachary Heinzerling for Cutie and the Boxer (2014), John Maloof and Charlie Siskel for Finding Vivian Maier (2015), and Crystal Moselle for The Wolfpack (2016).


Our Sponsors

CEH Sponsor Apple TV+ logo
CEH Sponsor HBO Max logo
CEH Sponsor National Geographic Documentary Films logo
CEH Sponsor Amazon Studios logo
CEH Sponsor Hulu logo
CEH Sponsor Netflix logo
CEH Sponsor Showtime Documentary Films logo
CEH Sponsor American Cinema Editors logo
CEH Sponsor Museum of the Moving Image logo
CEH Sponsor Spacestation logo
CEH Sponsor Vidiots logo