2025 Broadcast Honors Submissions Now Open

The Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking today announced 10 finalists for their annual Nonfiction Film for Television Award, marking the first awards announcement of the 8th Annual Honors calendar year.

Among this year’s finalists are four previous Cinema Eye nominees. Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady were named Outstanding Directors in 2013 for their feature film Detropia. Nanette Burstein was nominated in 2009 for her film American Teen and Dawn Porter was a nominee in this same category earlier this year for her film Gideon’s Army.

Nominees for the award will be announced later this fall when all of Cinema Eye’s nominations for the year’s best nonfiction are unveiled and the winner will be awarded in January 2015.

The ten finalists are:

All About Ann: Governor of the Lone Star State (HBO)
Directed by Keith Patterson and Phillip Schopper

American Masters: Billie Jean King (PBS)
Directed by James Erskine

The Education of Muhammad Hussein (HBO)
Directed by Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady

Hillsborough (ESPN)
Directed by Daniel Gordon

American Masters: Jimi Hendrix – Here My Train A Comin’ (PBS)
Directed by Bob Smeaton

Life According to Sam (HBO)
Directed by Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine

The Price of Gold (ESPN)
Directed by Nanette Burstein

Six by Sondheim (HBO)
Directed by James Lapine

Spies of Mississippi (PBS)
Directed by Dawn Porter

Toxic Hot Seat (HBO)
Directed by James Redford and Kirby Walker

Films eligible for this award must have aired on their network between September 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014. Films must have received production support during the production. Films acquired during late post-production are not eligible for this award. Nominees in this category will be the Directors, Producers and Key Network Personnel who worked on the film.