2025 Broadcast Honors Submissions Now Open
October 11, 2011

New York, NY – Eleven films from six countries have been named as finalists for the 2012 Cinema Eye Honors for Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking.  Five nominees, selected from the 11 finalists, will be named on October 26, 2011, when nominees for the 2012 Cinema Eye Honors are announced in London, England at an event hosted by Sheffield Doc/Fest, a key partner of Cinema Eye.

Among the finalists are two previous Cinema Eye nominees: Deborah Stratman, who was nominated for the Cinematography award in 2012 for O’er the Land, and the late Tim Hetherington, who was nominated for two awards earlier this year for Restrepo.

This is the second year that Cinema Eye has presented an award for Nonfiction Short Filmmaking.  Last year the award went to The Poodle Trainer, directed by Vance Malone.

Finalists for the Short Filmmaking award were determined in voting by top short film/documentary programmers from international film festivals.  This year’s nominations committees are chaired by Sean Farnel, the former Director of Programming at Hot Docs.  Committee members included Hussain Currimbhoy (Sheffield Doc/Fest), Sarafina DiFelice (Hot Docs), Ben Fowlie (Camden International Film Festival), Ted Mott (Full Frame), Veton Nurkollari (DokuFest Kosovo), Sky Sitney (Silverdocs) and Kim Yutani (Sundance Film Festival).

A jury will watch all 11 films and select five nominees and one winner, which will be announced at the 5th Annual Cinema Eye Honors on January 11, 2012 at the Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens, New York.

2012 Cinema Eye Honors Short Film Finalists:

Bathing Micky (MICKY BADER) (Sweden/Denmark)
Directed by Frida Kempff

Diary (United Kingdom)
Directed by Tim Hetherington

Guanape Sur (Italy)
Directed by János Richter

Il Capo (The Chief) (Italy)
Directed by Yuri Ancarani

Incident by a Bank (Sweden)
Directed by Ruben Östlund

Minka (USA)
Directed by Davina Pardo

Directed by Jakub Stozek

Poster Girl (USA)
Directed by Sara Nesson

Ray’s Birds (USA)
Directed by Deborah Stratman

This Chair is Not Me (United Kingdom)
Directed by Andy Taylor Smith

Tussilago (Sweden)
Directed by Jonas Odell