2025 Broadcast Honors Submissions Now Open

Fifteen documentary short films from around the world have been named as finalists for the 2014 Cinema Eye Honor for Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking.

The announcement of the 2014 “Shorts List” was made on the opening day of the 9th Annual Camden International Film Festival (CIFF) in Camden, Maine.  CIFF is a key festival partner of Cinema Eye and hosts Cinema Eye’s annual Nominees Reception in New York City each January. 2014 marks the fifth year that CIFF and Cinema Eye have partnered to salute many of the top artistic achievements in nonfiction filmmaking.

Nominees in the Short Film category will be announced along with this year’s feature film nominees in November. Awards will be presented at the 7th Annual Cinema Eye Honors in New York City in January.

This year’s finalists includes a previous Cinema Eye winner and two filmmakers who were named to previous Shorts Lists:  Laura Poitras, named to this year’s list for her NY Times Op-Doc Death of a Prisoner, was named Outstanding Feature Director in 2011 for The Oath; Yuri Ancarani, on this year’s list for Da Vinci, was nominated in 2012 for Il Capo; and Sergio Oksman, on the 2014 list for A Story for the Modlins, was a finalist for the 2011 Honors for his film Notes on the Other.

Eva Weber, on this year’s list for both Black Out and Reindeer, becomes the first filmmaker ever to have two films named as finalists in the same year in the history of Cinema Eye.  If both films were to be nominated, she’d become the first person ever to score two Cinema Eye nominations in the same category in the same year.

The fifteen finalists are:

Black Out (UK)
Directed by Eva Weber

Bradley Manning Had Secrets (UK)
Directed by Adam Butcher

Coffee Time (Elvakaffe) (Sweden)
Directed by Maria Fredriksson

Da Vinci (Italy)
Directed by Yuri Ancarani

Death of a Prisoner (USA)
Directed by Laura Poitras

I Kill (New Zealand)
Directed by David White and Paul Wedel

Magnetic Reconnection (Canada)
Directed by Kyle Armstrong

Marcel, King of Tervuren (USA)
Directed by Tom Schroeder

Nile Perch (USA)
Directed by Josh Gibson

Outlawed in Pakistan (Pakistan / USA)
Directed by Habiba Nosheen and Hilke Schellmann

Pouters (Scotland)
Directed by Paul Fegan

Reindeer (UK)
Directed by Eva Weber

The Roper (USA)
Directed by Ewan McNicol and Anna Sandilands

Slomo (USA)
Directed by Josh Izenberg

A Story for the Modlins (Spain)
Directed by Sergio Oksman

Finalists for the Short Filmmaking award were determined in voting by top short film/documentary programmers from international film festivals.  Members of this year’s Short Film Nominations Committee included Karen Cirillo (True/False Film Festival), Charlotte Cook (Hot Docs), Hussain Currimbhoy (Sheffield Doc/Fest), Claudette Godfrey (SXSW), Ben Fowlie (Camden International Film Festival), Ted Mott (Full Frame), Veton Nurkollari (Dokufest Kosovo), Rachel Rosen (San Francisco), Sky Sitney (AFI Silverdocs) and Kim Yutani (Sundance).