2025 Feature and Short Film Submissions Now Open
Outstanding Achievement in

Visual Design

From title design to animated characters to motion graphics that illustrate complex, challenging or humourous ideas, the artists who create graphic design and animation continue to play an increasingly important role in the construction of great nonfiction films. Previous winners in this category include Lewis Kofsky and Richard Winkler for Chicago 10 (2008), Yoni Goodman and David Polonsky for Waltz with Bashir (2009), Bigstar for Food, Inc. and Brett Gaylor & team for RIP: A Remix Manifesto (2010, tie), Juan Cardarelli, Eric M. Levy and Alex Tyson for Gasland (2012), Rob Feng and Jeremy Landman for Tabloid (2012), Oskar Gullstrand and Arvid Steen for Searching for Sugar Man (2013), Art Jail and Noriko Shinohara for Cutie and the Boxer (2014), Syd Garon for Jodorowsky’s Dune and MK12 for Particle Fever (2015, tie), and Stefan Nadelman/Hisko Hulsing for Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck (2016).

And The Nominees Are

Melissa McClung

For The Arc of Oblivion

Thomas Curtis and Sean Pierce

For Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project

Jason Carpenter and Holly Stone

For The Mission

Hyung Cho and Helen Niu

For Nam June Paik: Moon is the Oldest TV

Javier Mariscal, Marcello Quintanillha and Carlos León

For They Shot the Piano Player

Our Sponsors

CEH Sponsor Apple TV+ logo
CEH Sponsor max
CEH Sponsor National Geographic Documentary Films logo
CEH Sponsor Hulu logo
CEH Sponsor ESPN Films logo
CEH Sponsor 30 for 30 logo
CEH Sponsor Netflix logo
CEH Sponsor American Cinema Editors logo
CEH Sponsor DCTV logo
CEH Sponsor Spacestation logo
CEH Sponsor Vidiots logo