2025 Feature and Short Film Submissions Now Open
Outstanding Achievement in

Nonfiction Short Filmmaking

Short films often represent nonfiction filmmaking at its most pure: a single subject or idea explored at just the right length. This award recognizes those films that find the balance of running time and artistry. The previous winners of this award were Vance Malone’s The Poodle Trainer (2011), Tim Hetherington’s Diary (2012), Robert-Jan Lacombe’s Good Bye Mandima (Kwa Heri Mandima) (2013), Sergio Oksman’s A Story for the Modlins (2014), Lucy Walker for The Lion’s Mouth Opens (2015) and Scott Cummings for Buffalo Juggalos and Elizabeth Lo for Hotel 22 (2016, tie).

And The Nominees Are


Directed by Ruslan Fedotow

Between Earth & Sky

Directed by Andrew Nadkarni

Black Girls Play: The Story of Hand Games

Directed by Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson

Neighbour Abdi

Directed by Douwe Dijkstra


Directed by Justine Martin

Will You Look at Me

Directed by Shuli Huang

Our Sponsors

CEH Sponsor Apple TV+ logo
CEH Sponsor max
CEH Sponsor National Geographic Documentary Films logo
CEH Sponsor Hulu logo
CEH Sponsor ESPN Films logo
CEH Sponsor 30 for 30 logo
CEH Sponsor Netflix logo
CEH Sponsor American Cinema Editors logo
CEH Sponsor DCTV logo
CEH Sponsor Spacestation logo
CEH Sponsor Vidiots logo