2025 Feature and Short Film Submissions Now Open

Heterodox Award

The Heterodox Award demonstrates the porous boundaries between life’s documentation and creative storytelling, highlighting the ways in which today’s (non)fiction filmmakers are inspired, challenged and provoked by the realities in which their dramatic constructs live. Previous winners of the award were Matt Porterfield’s Putty Hill (2011), Mike Mills’ Beginners (2012), Jem Cohen’s Museum Hours (2013), Carlos Reygados’s Post Tenebras Lux (2014), Richard Linklater’s Boyhood (2015) and Jafar Panahi’s Taxi (2016).

And The Nominees Are

The Buriti Flower

Directed by João Salaviza and Renée Nader Messora

The Echo

Directed by Tatiana Huezo

Four Daughters

Directed by Kaouther Ben Hania

Past Lives

Directed by Celine Song


Directed by Tina Satter

The Unknown Country

Directed by Morrisa Maltz

Our Sponsors

CEH Sponsor Apple TV+ logo
CEH Sponsor max
CEH Sponsor National Geographic Documentary Films logo
CEH Sponsor Hulu logo
CEH Sponsor ESPN Films logo
CEH Sponsor 30 for 30 logo
CEH Sponsor Netflix logo
CEH Sponsor American Cinema Editors logo
CEH Sponsor DCTV logo
CEH Sponsor Spacestation logo
CEH Sponsor Vidiots logo