2025 Feature and Short Film Submissions Now Open
Outstanding Achievement in


In nonfiction filmmaking, the editor is the sculptor, the script writer and often the savior. They take hours and hours of raw footage and craft a narrative that gives life and resonance to the director’s vision. Here we acknowledge the editor’s prime role in the creative construction of documentary film. Previous winners in this category include Doug Abel, Jenny Golden and Andy Grieve for Manda Bala (Send a Bullet) (2008), Jinx Godfrey for Man on Wire (2009), Janus Billeskov-Jansen and Thomas Papapetros for Burma VJ (2010), Chris King and Tom Fulford for Exit Through the Gift Shop (2011), Gregers Sall and Chris King for Senna (2012), T. Woody Richman and Tyler H. Walk for How to Survive a Plague (2012), Nels Bangerter for Let the Fire Burn (2013), Mathilde Bonnefoy for Citizenfour (2015) and Chris King for Amy (2016).

And The Nominees Are

Michelle Mizner

For 20 Days in Mariupol

Nels Bangerter and Sam Green

For 32 Sounds

Carolina Siraqyan

For The Eternal Memory

Mikel Cee Karlsson, Maximilien Van Aertryck and Axel Danielson

For Fantastic Machine

Alain Gomis

For Rewind & Play

Michael Harte

For Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie

Our Sponsors

CEH Sponsor Apple TV+ logo
CEH Sponsor max
CEH Sponsor National Geographic Documentary Films logo
CEH Sponsor Hulu logo
CEH Sponsor ESPN Films logo
CEH Sponsor 30 for 30 logo
CEH Sponsor Netflix logo
CEH Sponsor American Cinema Editors logo
CEH Sponsor DCTV logo
CEH Sponsor Spacestation logo
CEH Sponsor Vidiots logo