2025 Broadcast Honors Submissions Now Open
Outstanding Achievement in


It may be a simple thing to turn on a camera, but a rare few can capture the poetry and chaos of everyday life as it happens. Vertov said that the camera, the cinema eye (or kino-eye), was more powerful than the human eye. The camera is also the extension of the documentarian’s heart, in the moment, as they capture life unfolding. This award captures the great visual artists of our form. Previous winners in this category include Heloisa Passos for Manda Bala (Send a Bullet) (2008), Peter Zeitlinger for Encounters at the End of the World (2009), Brook Aitken for The Cove (2010), Lixin Fan for Last Train Home (2011), Danfung Dennis for Hell and Back Again (2012), Jeff Orlowski for Chasing Ice (2013), Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel for Leviathan (2014), Erik Wilson for 20,000 Days on Earth and Franklin Dow/Orlando von Einsiedel for Virguna (2015, tie) and Matthew Heineman/Matt Porwoll for Cartel Land and Jimmy Chin/Renan Ozturk for Meru (2016, tie).

And The Nominees Are

Franz Lustig

For Anselm

Verena Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor

For De Humani Corporis Fabrica

Curren Sheldon

For King Coal

D. Smith

For Kokomo City

Ants Tammik

For Smoke Sauna Sisterhood

Lars Erlend Tubaas Øymo

For Songs of Earth

Our Sponsors

CEH Sponsor Apple TV+ logo
CEH Sponsor max
CEH Sponsor National Geographic Documentary Films logo
CEH Sponsor Hulu logo
CEH Sponsor ESPN Films logo
CEH Sponsor 30 for 30 logo
CEH Sponsor Netflix logo
CEH Sponsor American Cinema Editors logo
CEH Sponsor DCTV logo
CEH Sponsor Spacestation logo
CEH Sponsor Vidiots logo