

Cinema Eye Honors Announces New Award For Short Filmmaking

11 International Finalists Named

Cinema Eye, the organization dedicated to celebrating and promoting the art and craft of nonfiction filmmaking, announced today the names of 11 finalists for the first Cinema Eye Honor for Outstanding Short Filmmaking.

Five nominees for the award will be announced on November 4, 2010 at the Cinema Eye Honors Nominations Announcement at the Sheffield Doc/Fest in the United Kingdom, along with nominees in eleven feature film categories.

The winner will be announced at the 4th Annual Clnema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking, set to be held in January in New York City.

"We've been talking for several years about finding the best way to honor the work being done by nonfiction filmmakers in the short form," says 2011 Cinema Eye Honors Co-Chair AJ Schnack. "We're incredibly excited to be celebrate these exceptional 11 films as finalists for our first Short Film award at Cinema Eye."

The naming of the new award for Short Nonfiction Filmmaking is the first of several major announcements for this year's edition of the Cinema Eye Honors. "2010 has been an extraordinary year for documentary," says Co-Chair Esther Robinson. "We look forward to celebrating this amazing work with an event that lives up to this historic year."

The 11 Short Film Finalists are:

ALBERT'S WINTER Directed by Andreas Koefoed (Denmark)

ALI SHAN Directed by Yung Chang (Canada/China)

ARSY-VERSY Directed by Miro Remo (Slovakia)

BORN SWEET Directed by Cynthia Wade (USA) **THE DARKNESS OF DAY** Directed by Jay Rosenblatt (USA)

DOCK ELLIS AND THE LSD NO NO Directed by James Blagden (USA)

NOTES ON THE OTHER Directed by Sergio Oksman (Spain)

PETER IN RADIOLAND Directed by Johanna Wagner (Scotland)

THE POODLE TRAINER Directed by Vance Malone (USA)

QUADRANGLE Directed by Amy Grappell (USA)

WAGAH Directed by Supriyo Sen (India/Pakistan/Germany)

About the Cinema Eye Honors:

The Cinema Eye Honors were launched in late 2007 to recognize exemplary craft and innovation in nonfiction film. Cinema Eye's mission is to advocate for, recognize and promote the highest commitment to rigor and artistry in the nonfiction field. The Honors are held annually in January in New York City. Co-chairs for the 2011 Cinema Eye Honors are filmmakers Esther Robinson and AJ Schnack.

Finalists for the Short Filmmaking award were determined in voting by top short film/documentary programmers from international film festivals. This year's nominations committees are chaired by Hot Docs Film Festival Director of Programming Sean Farnel. Committee members included Hussain Currimbhoy (Sheffield Doc/Fest), Ben Fowlie (Camden International Film Festival), Ted Mott (Full Frame), Veton Nurkollari (DokuFest Kosovo), Sky Sitney (Silverdocs) and Kim Yutani (Sundance Film Festival).

For more information about the Cinema Eye Honors, please contact AJ Schnack at ajschnack@cinemaeyehonors.com.